A secret affair : Ciro’s Speakeasy

Hi there,

If you’re in the U.S or Puerto Rico (now I want to be back in Puerto Rico, but I digress), I hope your Thanksgiving holiday was filled with love and laughter.

I spent mine with my friends out in South Tampa. Photos here.

Before we get on with this post, I want to take a minute to ask for your help. Not everyone has the opportunity to sit at a table and make merry because our world is unfair. Through this link, you can aid UNICEF in its mission to support the world’s children.

Now, remember when I told you about my friend who has a “dine-out budget” for when she travels? She came to visit me for a few days, and we got to eating.

I had never heard of this restaurant before she came along, which speaks to either my limited knowledge of places in Tampa bay or my laziness or both. 

This restaurant is just all about the mystery. It’s placed unassumingly on the ground floor of an apartment complex with little more than the valet sign to tell you you’re at the right place.

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

When we got to the door, we knocked and spoke the password for the night, and I couldn’t help but wonder what would have happened if we didn’t have it. Inside was dark. But not in a creepy way. It had this 60’s vibe to it, not that I would know what the 60’s were like but I watched Mad Men okay?

Speakeasies are named for the fact that you didn’t talk about places like these out loud. They were clandestine spots where people gathered to drink, back when alcohol was banned in the U.S. You do get the feeling that you’re in a secret spot when you visit Ciro’s. 

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 preset

We came for the food too, which was delicious. My friend, Ivie (ee-vee-ay) ordered duck fat fries and a fancy drink whose name now eludes me; while I had crab cakes and a classic Manhattan to drink. The environment just called for an old fashioned cocktail.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Duck fat fries

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset
Crab cakes with arugula salad
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
L- Manhattan, R-Cocktail

Overall, the experience was interesting and it helped that the food and drinks were made well too. When we had had enough of all the PDA surrounding us, we grabbed the check and headed home.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I’ll definitely be back here as it’s the kind of place that is date night, girls night and friends night appropriate.

Shout out to Tampa Bay, apologies for constantly underestimating you.

Until next Friday, thank you for reading! 

All photos shot on iPhone 6S+


same footprints, different sands.

Leave a Comment